2012-13 Conference Schedule Format Released

The South Eastern Collegiate Hockey Conference will have a new conference schedule format starting for the 2012-2013 season. The new change was approved by the board with a passing vote of 7-3.

Starting in 2012-13, SECHC teams will only be required to play divisional games. Each team will play two games against other teams within their division, creating an eight-game conference schedule.

“We explored several options as a conference on how to schedule games for the upcoming season,” said SECHC Director of Media Relations Ben Dishong. “The setup that was voted on and passed makes the most sense for our conference and its ability to grow.”

While the new format will not have a cross-division schedule (as in previous seasons, including 2011-12), teams have already committed to playing cross-division games to maintain rivalries.

“If we carried mandatory cross-division games, there is a possibility every season for some rivalries (Alabama-Tennessee, Georgia-Auburn, Florida-Alabama among others) to be put on hold. By having a division-only schedule, we have a very meaningful set of conference games and we can hold onto some of the great cross-division rivalries that our fans have come to know and love.”

The new format will also put a higher value to divisional wins, in order to qualify for the four slots in each division for the postseason tournament. Currently, each division has five teams.

The 2012-13 conference schedule, including non-conference scoring games, will be released at a later date.