2011-12 SECHC Playoffs recap

Part of Commissioner’s Corner:

The 2011-12 SECHC playoffs were held in Huntsville, AL.  The following players were recognized and awarded with the All SECHC Medallion during an awards presentation on February 25th.

1st Team All SECHC TeamPeter Kacer (Georgia),  Scott Schilson (Florida), Hayden Lancaster (South Carolina), Scott Schwartz (Florida), Matt Mayes (Alabama), and Brendan Desjardins (Arkansas).

2nd Team All SECHC TeamMichael Dutka (Florida), Zach Dailey (Alabama), Mark Wysock (Alabama), David Crowe (Vanderbilt), Matt Stankowicz (Florida) and Sean Vinson (Alabama).

3rd Team All SECHC TeamJustin Gaddy (Arkansas), Cody Fullinwider (Ole Miss), Pete Leone (Auburn), Ryan Terrana (Georgia), Easton Oliver (Arkansas) and Brenden Oliver (Vanderbilt).

The 2011-12 Coach of the Year was Coach Thomas Bernstein (Vanderbilt) and the MVP was Peter Kacer (Georgia).  Congratulations to all, we are very proud of you!  The 2011-12 SECHC Playoffs were very exciting and resulted in the  # 1 seed from the western division, Alabama Frozen Tide winning their first ever SECHC championship with a convincing 7-2 victory over a very game #1 seed from the eastern division, Florida Gator squad. Alabama goaltender John Bierchen was named the tournament’s MVP.

Vanderbilt took the 3rd place trophy with a 5-2 victory over Georgia.

The SECHC also honored a true American hero and Wounded Warrior, US Army Chief Warrant Officer James Joyner with an on ice ceremony.  Chief Joyner received gifts from all 8 participating teams after  remarks from Commissioner Day and received a long standing ovation and applause from a sellout crowd. 

The 2011-12 SECHC Playoffs were a huge success and I am looking forward to returning to Huntsville, AL for the 2012-13 SECHC Playoffs scheduled for 22-24 February 2013.